FATIGUE: UNSUSPECTED CAUSES

I came across an interesting article today that listed several reasons why people become fatigued. Three of which I think are very beneficial to women’s health. These topics that I will discuss include anemia, undiagnosed urinary tract infection, and dehydration.

Anemia

Anemia is the primary cause of fatigue among women today. Anemia means that a person has fewer red blood cells than the normal level. Anemia associated with women can be caused by heavy menstruation with the loss of blood, leading to iron deficiency. When a person has fewer red blood cells than normal, less oxygen can be transported to the bodies’ tissues and organs; which can make women feel tired and weak. In order to fix this deficiency, women should take iron supplements and eat an iron-rich diet (such as lean meat, beans, and enriched cereal).

Undiagnosed Urinary Tract Infection (UTI)

A woman usually knows when she has a UTI by her need to urinate frequently, and the burning sensation she feels when she urinates. But this is not always the case, symptoms may not always be obvious and oftentimes the only symptom is fatigue. If your Doctor suspects that you have a UTI, he or she will take a quick and easy urine sample to confirm the diagnosis. The UTI can then be easily treated with antibiotics.

Dehydration

Fatigue may also be a sign of dehydration. If you feel thirsty at all that means you are already dehydrated. It is important to drink water throughout the day so that your urine stays a light color. If your urine has turned a dark color, you should drink fluids immediately; this means that you are dehydrated. If you are going to work out drink at least two cups before your workout, continue to drink throughout your work out, and drink at least another two cups afterwards.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to FATIGUE: UNSUSPECTED CAUSES

  1. melindawhite says:

    I am always fatigued and looking at this list I know that I am anemic and that I forget to drink water. Thanks for the nice reminder as I start to study for finals that I need to drink plenty of water and take my iron pills so stay mentally awake.

  2. Kimberly says:

    I feel fatigued all the time. I think dehydrated may be the cause. I feel thirty all the time, all day long! I need to fix this!

  3. eric says:

    My sister has anemia and is exhausted all the time!

  4. hillarymcd says:

    I had no idea food allergies were associated with fatigue, I don’t have a food allergy (at least none that I know of, maybe that would explain my random moments of fatigue haha) but that is really interesting.

  5. ashleygarner says:

    Thank you for including the bit about drinking enough water! I think I need to work better on this. I’m interested to see if it makes a difference! Thanks!

  6. rosec2 says:

    Anemia is a serious problem for women and I think one reason is due to the monthly menstruation that women go through but thank goodness we can always take iron supplement to help with that.

  7. joysita16 says:

    Fatigue can be stressful and so taking suppliments and eating right foods to increase blood levels would be very helpful

  8. spencerrichards says:

    My sister was recently diagnosed with anemia, and it’s helped to clear up a lot of confusion about other health problems, especially being tired all the time.

  9. My husband always tells me to drink more water. I think if I had cancer he would tell me to drink more water! However, I am learning more and more that if I drink enough water I feel better and have more energy.

  10. ellesloan says:

    I never drink enough water, and I really need to work on that, especially before and after I exercise. I feel so much better when I’m drinking water regularly.

  11. kargibs says:

    I think I’ve had issues with all of these, as have many girls. Thanks for making us more aware so we can take the steps to help ourselves.

  12. sararober says:

    I never really thought that fatigue could come from being dehydrated, but that is good to know. I always have to remember to take a water bottle to work/school or else I hardly drink any water throughout the day. With fatigue often present in my lives I’ll take all the tips/help I can get. Thanks!

  13. It seems like fatigue is a vary common problem. It is great to know some of the reason that may affect it. Also maybe we just need more good sleep.

  14. I used to be anemic, and it certainly made me fatigued. I went on iron supplements for a while, but now I just eat a cup of spinach a day and that seems to do the trick!

  15. willi49 says:

    Wow this was really interesting. I never knew that about anemia. Thanks for the information!

  16. wmckenzi says:

    I had never thought about all those options. As finals approach, I’ll be sure to get a hold on my water intake and make sure I am eating enough iron.

  17. kaca says:

    I had no idea that UTI’s could cause fatigue. Thanks for sharing!

  18. aleesham says:

    This is interesting I never thought of being dehydrated as causing fatigue. Interesting.

  19. cpace2 says:

    It was so interesting when I learned that I have a low RBC because I often feel fatigued. Now I have a possible answer as to why I am tired so often.

  20. No matter if some one searches for his essential thing, thus he/she needs
    to be available that in detail, therefore that thing is maintained over
    here.

  21. Valuable info. Fortunate me I discovered your site accidentally,
    and I’m shocked why this twist of fate did not happened earlier! I bookmarked it.

Leave a comment